Unproduced G.I. Joe Vehicle – Borer

G.I. Joe Unproduced Borer by Andrei Koribanics close-upAndrei Koribanics freelanced for Hasbro in the mid-1980s.  Besides today’s Borer art, I’ve also come across a figure concept by him (that may end up in Chapter 14 of my book) and the presentation painting of Sgt. Slaughter’s Renegades (in Chapter 6).  Leaky Suit Brigade has a tiny interview with Koribanics, and should have a longer one up at some point.

Andrei Koribanics G.I. Joe Unproduced Borer 1 of 3For those of you who note Cobra’s heavy use of drill tanks in the weekday cartoon, it’s interesting to note that toy-wise, the Joe team may have wound up with a fleet of personal ones.  I can just imagine the ads — this toy popping through a wall of mulch laid in a brick pattern, ’88 Joes stopping Destro’s Iron Grenadiers from some nefarious subterranean plot.

Andrei Koribanics pencil art of Unproduced G.I. Joe Borer 2 of 3

Based on the scale of the cockpit and the figure in it, this unproduced vehicle would have been a little under $10, I think.  What I don’t know, however, is how much input other designers may have had.  Koribanics might have concepted this all by himself and drawn this with little outside input, or the idea (or a sketch) may have started under someone else’s pencil.  Regardless, this are nice illustrations of what might have been.

Andrei Koribanics pencil art of Unproduced G.I. Joe Borer 3 of 3

And what might R&D and Marketing have come up with for a name?  What acronym says little, one-man drill tank?  DART, for Drill Attack Retrievable Tank?  PBD, for Personal Borer Drill? What would you name this vehicle had it made it to market?

9 Comments

Filed under G.I. Joe Behind the Scenes, Toys and Toy Art

9 responses to “Unproduced G.I. Joe Vehicle – Borer

  1. Marc stewart

    Cobra screw up

  2. Nate

    Tim, I really can’t wait until you finally get the chance to publish this book!

  3. NegaT

    G.O.P.H.E.R. (Guided One-Person Hard Earth Remover)

    • I love this.
      I can see the ad as if it actually existed:

      SINGERS
      G.I. Joe, diggin down!/Gonna fight Cobra underground!/
      Nobody beats G.I. Joe!/G.I. Joe Go-opher!
      (note is held on the vowel)

      JACKSON BECK
      It’s the Guided One-Person Hard Earth Remover!

      RANDOM KID WITH COLLARED, STRIPED SHIRT
      Cobra’s hiding in the cave!

      OTHER KID, WITH GIANT HAIR
      Not for long! Go get ’em, Joe!

      [Smashes GOPHER through a latice-work of mulch]

      SINGERS
      Nobody beats G.I. Joe!/ A Real American Heroooooo!

      JACKSON BECK
      G.I. Joe GOPHER comes with everything you see here.
      Destro’s DEMON comes with driver, other figures sold separately!

      SINGERS
      Yo Joe!

      FADE TO BLACK

Leave a Reply

